Startup Nations Ministerial

Startup Nations Ministerial

Powered by the World Bank and GEN Global (by invitation only)

The world is seeing a new wave of entrepreneurial disruption emerge, providing both opportunities and challenges for governments. Everywhere in the world, our governments set the rules and incentives. It is also our governments that must respond when entrepreneurial innovation raises new regulatory challenges and opportunities.

The Startup Nations Ministerial serves as a high-level dialogue among policy leaders and entrepreneurship policy experts about how public-sector agencies across the world can better encourage more new and young businesses to start and grow.

The Startup Nations Ministerial offers a safe space for public sector authorities committed to unleashing growth-oriented entrepreneurship to share their experience and questions with their counterparts of other national ecosystems.

Participating government representatives:

H.E. Mariano Mayer, Secretary of Entrepreneurs & SMEs, Argentina

H.E. Mr. Zayed R. Alzayani, Minister of Industry and Commerce, Kingdom of Bahrain

H.E. Zunaid Ahmed Palak, Minister for Information and Communication Technology, Bangladesh

H.E. Modeste Kerekou, Minister of SMEs and Employment Promotion of Benin

H.E. Wayne Furbert, Junior Minister of Finance, Bermuda

Mr. Igor Nazareth, Undersecretary for Innovation, Ministry of Industry, Foreign Trade and Services, Brazil

H.E. Channmeta Kan, Secretary of State of the Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications (MPTC), Cambodia

H.E. Achille Bassilekin III, Minister of Small and Medium Enterprises, of Social Economy and Handicrafts, Cameroon

Mr. Felipe Buitrago Restrepo, Presidential Counsellor on Economic and Strategic Affairs; Mr. Ignacio Gaitan Villegas, President, Innpulsa, Colombia

H.E. Yvonne Adelaide, Minister of SMEs & Artisans, Republic of Congo

Mrs. Kristin Schreiber, Director, EU Programme for the Competitiveness of Enterprises & SMEs, European Commission

Mr. Viljar Lubi, Deputy Secretary General for Economic Development, Estonia

H.E. Lasha Mikava, Deputy Minister of Economy and Sustainable Development, Georgia

Mr. John Ampontuah Kumah, CEO of the National Entrepreneurship and Innovation Programme (NEIP), Ghana

Dr. Koranyi, Strategic Advisor, Ministry of Innovation and Technology, Former President, National Innovation Office, Hungary

H.E. Ramesh Abishek, Secretary, Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade, Ministry of Commerce, India

Dr. Marco Bellezza, Advisor for Digital Innovation and Communication of the Italian Minister for Economic Development, Italy

H.E. Peter Munya, Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Industry, Trade and Cooperatives, Kenya

H.E. Redzuan Yusof, Minister of Entrepreneur Development, Malaysia

H.E. Fayyaz Ismail, Minister of Economic Development, Republic of Maldives

H.E. Christian Cardona, Minister for the Economy Investment and Small Businesses, Malta

H.E Soomilduth Sunil Bholah, Minister of Business, Enterprise and Cooperatives, Mauritius

H.E. Matrika Prasad Yadav, Minister of Industry Commerce and Supplies, Nepal

H.E. Aisha Abubakar, Minister of Industry, Trade & Investment, Nigeria

H.E Dr. Ahmed Al Ghassani, CEO, Public Authority for SMEs Development, Oman

H.E. Tadeusz Koscinski, Undersecretary of State, Ministry of Entrepreneurship & Technology, Poland

Eng. Saleh Alrasheed, Governor, Small and Medium Enterprises General Authority, Saudi Arabia

Mr. Papa Amadou Sarr, CEO, National Agency for Entrepreneurship, Senegal

Ms. Angelique Antat, Principal Secretary to the Department of Industry and Entrepreneurship Development, Seychelles

Mr. Linton Mchunu, Chief of Staff of the Minister of Small Business Development, South Africa

H.E. Nalin Nilantha Bandara, Deputy Minister of Development Strategies and International Trade, Sri Lanka

H.E. Oshik Mohamed Ahmed Taher, Secretary General of the National Investment Authority, Minister of State, Republic of Sudan

H.E. Mrs. Pattrawan Vechasart, Ambassador attached to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Thailand

H.E. Abdulla AlSaleh, Undersecretary, Ministry of Economy, United Arab Emirates

Mr. David M. Glaccum, Associate Administrator for International Trade, Small Business Administration, The United States

Observer government representatives:

Mr. Andrew Madeswi, Chief Operations Officer from CEDA, Botswana

Sir Joe Bossano MP, Minister for Economic Development, Telecommunications and the Savings Bank, Gibraltar

Mr. Oral Shaw, Principal Director, Ministry of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture Fisheries, Jamaica

Mr. Theodore Klouvas, Programme Manager for Entrepreneurship in Africa and the Middle East of the Netherlands Enterprise Agency, The Netherlands

Ms. Salima Bah, Technical Lead of the DSTI Ease Of Doing Business Team, Sierra Leone

Mr. Nael Islam, Regional Group Director, Enterprise Singapore

Mr. Ozan Acar, The Union Of Chambers And Commodity Exchanges and Mr. Kutlu Karavelioglu, Turkish Exporters Assembly, Turkey

Ms. Davina Hills, International SME Policy Advisor, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, United Kingdom

Mr. Bunyodbek Bakhrombekov, First Deputy Chairman of the Central Council of Youth Union of Uzbekistan

Mr. Angel Alvarado, Congressman, Venezuela

Mr. Pham Trung Nghia, Commercial Counsellor, Embassy of Vietnam

Mr. Bekruz Hamzaev Strategy Advisor to the Minister of Tourism, Uzbekistan

Discussion facilitators include:

Mrs. Cristina Fernandez, Vice President for Research & Policy, GEN

Mr. Dane Stangler, Senior Advisor, GEN Global

Dr. Sameeksha Desai, Director of Knowledge Creation & Research in Entrepreneurship, Kauffman Foundation

Ms. Lucia Cusmano, Head of Division SME and Entrepreneurship, OECD

Mr. Denis Medvedev, Practice Manager, Firm Capabilities and Innovation, Finance, Competitiveness & Innovation, The World Bank Group

Mr. Teo Firpo, Senior Researcher, Innovation Growth Lab, Nesta

Ms. Tatiana Krylova, Head, Enterprise Branch, Division on Investment and Enterprise, UNCTAD